You Win Some, You Lose Some

FullSizeRender (17)Sometimes the curveballs in our life, can end up being our greatest teacher and the biggest blessings in disguise.

Two years ago I was at a point where I needed to make a major life decision, when I was literally given a warning from doctors, lying in a hospital bed. My life had spiraled out of control. I had a litany of reasons as to why, but it was one particular moment that made me realise, enough is enough.

It was clear that the path I’d been on was unfulfilling and there were issues which I needed to address but yet, I was reluctant to make a change. That day shook my reality.

Did this happen for a reason? As crazy as it sounds, yes, I believe it did. Everything that happens in our lives is important, from the unfortunate to the most inspired.

I have always been a firm believer in ‘everything happens for a reason’, maybe that’s because it allows me to avoid blaming myself or other people, maybe it’s just a more
comforting way of thinking. A lot of the lesson’s life has taught me have come from my own mistakes, so in retrospect, if I hadn’t had these bad experiences, I probably wouldn’t of taken the time to rethink my decisions and change my life.

When you look back, you’ll find examples in your own lives, where positive results came from bad times. From the break up of a relationship, the loss of a loved one, getting fired from a job, losing money or suffering an illness- all might feel like the darkest moments,because at the time you can’t see past the present. But in hindsight, all can bring you opportunities and chances to become a better you.

In the famous words of Forest Gump “Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get“- I actually hate this quote, but it’s right, you can’t plan life, things just happen but one day that random pattern of bad events will all make sense.

I could probably write a book on bad decisions. I’ve made a lot of mistakes, I’m not proud of but actually I don’t regret anything- because everything I have done
has sculptured me into the person I am today.

No one grows up expecting to lose the people they love, but sometimes life is cruel; and it can take the best things away from you.

Like they say, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. When I was 17 I got the words “This too shall pass”  tattooed on me an I live by this quote. Nothing is ever permanent, things will always get better. I’m preaching but I still cry over boys and I still get stressed over shitty situations, because I’m only human but now I understand that you win some, you lose some and that’s just how life goes.

So if you are reading this my advice to you is, don’t ever let a negative situation get the better of you, because one day that unfortunate event will be your biggest blessing.

Leave a Reply

