In Hindsight…

“If you can’t fly, then walk. If you can’t walk, then crawl. But whatever you do keep moving forward” – Martin Luther King 

image

As a Kid, I never really had an interest in business, I attempted to study it at school but I never really understood it. I definitely never considered that I’d ever become an entrepreneur.

The closest I’ve ever come to a CEO is selling sweets at school and making a tidy profit. I attended a Catholic school. (As you can imagine this didn’t go down to well.) 

My second entrepreneur experience was when I was 18, me and my friend set up a cupcake business. We baked everything from her kitchen, turning it into a small shop- taking to social media we managed to end up selling cupcakes to half the Stoke City Football Club.

Then one day we got invited to the training ground to deliver the cupcakes to Begović, I don’t think we were the type of deliveroo service they were expecting. As young girls, we got slightly giddy. Turning up at the gates of Stoke’s FC training ground in a clio, strolling down to the main gates in our heals holding boxes of cakes above our head.

Once security had ok’d the cakes and let us in, Tony Pulis took one look at us and said “Why are you feeding my players cakes at training?” erm… SH!T. Luckily, his stern face broke into a laugh and he kindly invited us for breakfast. I sat opposite Peter Crouch, starring in amazement… even sat down I had to break my neck to make eye contact with him.

So, I guess I’ve always had a taste for entrepreneurship.

Last year, I met a bunch of entrepreneurs who made me realise, business isn’t about understanding capital, profit margins or been good at numbers – It’s about building something you love, something you are totally obsessed with.

I just wish I’d got started sooner, being involved in the entrepreneurial scene is the most exciting, liberating, crazy journey you will ever take.

My biggest obstacle like most was the fear of failure. But I don’t fear it anymore, because I decided to stop giving myself a back up plans. There is no plan B to my plan A – so I HAVE to make it work.

I posted a quote on my LinkedIn the other day and it said:

“There’s no talent here, this is hard work. This is an obsession. Talent does not exist we are all equals as human beings. You could be anyone if you put the time in. You will reach the top, and that’s that. I’m not talented, I am obsessed.” – Conor McGregor.

Those are true words right there.

I’ve spent a lot of my life worrying about what other people think of me, but now I don’t care – because you can’t please everyone and you shouldn’t spent your life trying to seek approval from others. If you have a dream, chase it, grab it and build on it.

It will be the hardest thing you ever do, but if you surround yourself around like minded people that buzz off business, inspire you and motivate you – I can almost guarantee it will make you never want to give up!

And if you fail, it’s ok. Start again.

Every great start up has failed at some point. If Bill Gates can watch his first company crumble, and still carry on to become one of the worlds wealthiest individuals – then so can you!

I wake up excited everyday, and I think everyone should have that feeling.

I am far, far, far from where I want to be- but I’ve made those first scary steps.

2016 is looking good! 😀💕

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

